40 years of Premer Shield

40 years of Premer Shield

2017 marks 40 years of the Premer Shield, New South Wales’ most prestigious sorghum growing award.

To recognise the occasion, we take a look at the past 10 years of the competition.

Held in Premer, a 1.5-hour drive south west of Tamworth, the annual Premer Field Day has been running since 1977.

An integral part of the field day, the crop competition pits grower against grower in a contest for the Rosebowl Trophy – champion sunflower crop, Premer Plate – champion wheat crop and Premer Shield – champion sorghum crop.

Other awards presented on the day include the Wilf Hockings Memorial Trophy, the Mick Gaynor Trophy for Local Farmer of the Year, best local sorghum crop and best local wheat crop.

2016 – Staplegrove

Michael Norman, Willow Tree

MR-Scorpio at 9t/ha

2015 – Belandi

Andrew Crossing, Richard Burns and Jamie Crossing, Spring Ridge

MR-Scorpio at 9.2t/ha

2014 – Rockedgiel

Colin and Andrew Campbell, Premer


2013 – Glenkerry

John and Simon Tourle, Quirindi

Pacific MR43 at 8.5t/ha

2012 – Yarrabah

Neil and Jeff Barwick, Willow Tree

MR-Striker at 9.5t/ha

2011 – Kawarrah

Scott Chambers, Bundella

G22 at 6t/ha

2010 – Belandi

Jamie Crossing, Spring Ridge

MR-Eclipse at 10.5t/ha

2009 – Merrivale Partnership

Rob and Kate Davidson, Tambar Springs

Pacific 2423 at 10t/ha

2008 – Yarrabah

Neil and Jeff Barwick, Willow Tree

MR-Buster at 11.8t/ha

2007 – Romani Pastoral Company

Jim Mitchell, Mandeville, Premer

MR-Buster at 8t/ha

More from Pacific Seeds.